Fellow of 2013, CHAN, Professor, Ching Ho Philip 陳正豪


FHKEng (2013)

Academic degrees:
BSc in Electrical Engineering (Highest Honour), University of California, Davis 1973; MSc and PhD in Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign 1975 and 1978

Professional qualifications:
FHKIE (1995), FIEEE (2007)

Honours, affiliations and other appointments:
– Emeritus Professor, HKUST;
– Member of the Board of Directors, and Technology Committee Chair, Applied Science and Technology Research Institute (ASTRI);
– ECE Outstanding Alumni Award, University of Illniois, Urbana-Champaign 2010;

Area of Expertise:
Prof. Chan’s technical expertise is in the area of solid-state devices and circuits. His research and technical interest are in integrated circuits, solid-state lighting

Ir Professor Chan started his career as a Postdoctoral Fellow and then Assistant Professor at UIUC 1978-1981. He later joined Intel Corporation in Santa Clara, California, USA in 1981, where worked on projects in technology development and design technology. He has made major technical contributions to circuit modeling and simulation of Intel integrated circuit products, solved the CMOS latchup problems and the development of multichip module technologies at Intel.

He joined the Hong Kong Unversity of Science and Technology as a founding member of the ECE department in 1991. Professor Chan undertook numerous administrative roles at HKUST. He developed a number of academic programmes including undergraduate programmes in Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Computer Engineering, Postgraduate Internship with industry, Inter-disciplinary Research Postgraduate Programmes. He served as the Director of Undergraduate Studies, the founding Director of Computer Engineering Programme, Associate Dean of Engineering, Director of Nanofabrication Facility and Head of the Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering. He became the Dean of Engineering in September 2003. He joined the Hong Kong Polytechnic University in 2010 as the Deputy President and Provost.