External Affairs 2015

2020  |  2019 2018  2016  2015 2014  2013 | 2011

Second Global Grand Challenges Summit ~ Student Day Competition

Date: 14 September 2015
Venue: Beijing, China

The HKAES was invited by the Chinese Academy of Engineering to form the Hong Kong Universities Alliance to compete with 14 other teams, including 5 from US, 5 from UK and another 4 from China in the Student Day Competition of the Global Summit.

The HKAES hosted a Lunch Reception for the Hong Kong University Alliance on 5 September 2015 at the Hong Kong Club. Mr. Nick Yang, Chairman of the Innovation and Technology Committee and Non-Official Member attended the Lunch Reception.

Final Update on the CAE-NAE-RAE Grand Challenges Summit ~ Student Day Competition

Eleventh Guanghua Engineering Science and Technology Award (第十一屆光華工程科技獎)

Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences (HKAES) was invited by the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE) to be responsible for the nomination of candidates for the Eleventh Guanghua Engineering Science and Technology Award (第十一屆光華工程科技獎) in the HKSAR (HKIE Journal Announcement). The following institutions were invited to submit nominations by 5 October 2015:

1. City University of Hong Kong (CityU)
2. Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute (ASTRI)
3. Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks (HKSTP)
4. The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK)
5. The Federation of Hong Kong Industries (FHKI)
6. The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (HKIE)
7. The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU)
8. The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST)
9. The University of Hong Kong (HKU)

Nominations were received from the institutions above and also from individuals.

The HKAES Nomination Committee consists the following members:

Ir Dr. Chan, Andrew K C (陳嘉正博士) FHKEng, FREng – Chairman, Trustees Board, Arup Group

Ir. Chiu, James (趙雅各工程師) FHKEng – Chairman, Paul Y Engineering Group Limited
Prof. Lee, C F (李焯芬教授) FHKEng, Academician CAE – Former Pro-vice chancellor of HKU
Prof. Li, Victor (李安國教授) FHKEng – Head of Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, HKU
Prof. Lin, Otto (林垂宙教授) FHKEng – Former Vice President of HKUST
Prof. Mai, Y W (米耀榮教授) FHKEng, FREng, FRS – University Professor & Personal Chair of Mechanical Engineering, The University of Sydney
Prof. Wong, C P (汪正平教授) FHKEng, F. Academician CAE, F.NAE – Dean of Engineering, CUHK
Prof. Wong, W S (黃永成教授) FHKEng – Former Dean of the Graduate School, CUHK

Prof. Ko, J M (高贊明教授) FHKEng – Former Vice President of PolyU

The following candidates of each category were unanimously agreed to be recommended for the captioned award:

Recommended for the “Engineering Award”

1. Prof. Chan, Ching Chuen (陳清泉教授)
2. Prof. Chen Guanghao (陳光浩教授)
3. Prof. Tao, Xiaoming (陶肖明教授)
4. Prof. Teng, Jinguang (滕錦光教授)
5. Prof. Yung, Kai Leung (容啟亮教授)

Recommended for the “Youth Award”

1. Prof. Jia, Jiaya (賈佳亞教授)
2. Dr. Wang, Zuankai (王鉆開博士)
3. Prof. Yue, Patrick (俞捷教授)

These HKAES nominations have been made to the Chinese Academy of Engineering for their final selection process.